Journal Issue

Interim Committee selects Gordon Brown as new chair

International Monetary Fund. External Relations Dept.
Published Date:
January 1999
  • ShareShare
Show Summary Details

The members of the IMF’s Interim Committee have selected Gordon Brown, the U.K. Chancellor of the Exchequer, as Chair of the Committee. Brown succeeds Carlo Azeglio Ciampi, Italy’s former Minister of Treasury, Budget and Economic Programming, who resigned in May 1999.

Brown has been Chancellor of the Exchequer since May 1997. He has also been a member of the U.K. Parliament since 1983. As a parliamentarian, Brown has held a number of senior Labour Party posts, including those involving economic and trade matters.

The Interim Committee was established in October 1974 to advise the IMF’s Board of Governors on supervising the management and adaptation of the international monetary system, as well as to deal with sudden disturbances that might threaten the stability of the system. The Committee deliberates on the principal policy issues facing the IMF.

The Committee has 24 members who are Governors of the IMF, Ministers, or others of comparable rank and reflects the composition of the IMF Executive Board. Each member country that appoints and each group of countries that elects an Executive Director appoints a member of the Committee. The Committee usually meets twice a year; in the spring and ahead of the Annual Meetings in the autumn. Its next meeting is in Washington, D.C., on September 26, 1999.

Other Resources Citing This Publication